The Pink Butterfly and Heart Cake

It was my daughter’s 6th birthday party recently and I wanted to make a special cake. When I asked her what she wanted for her birthday cake all she said was “pink butterflies and hearts”.

I’ve been wanting to try fondant icing for a while now and found a  good video tutorial on how to color it and got started.

The week before her party I baked a two layer chocolate cake and froze it.  I’ve recently tried David Lebovit’s Devils Food Cake recipe and now it’s my go to recipe for chocolate cake.  You just have to remember to make sure it’s beaten really well or else it comes out a little grainy – which is what I got the first time I tried it.

The night before the party I made some Wilton vanilla butter cream frosting, with double the amount of vanilla called for in the recipe – and made the crumb coat, waited till it was a little cold and covered it again with frosting – then back in the fridge. Then I colored 3/4 of the store bought fondant pink and rolled it out on wax paper and placed it gently on the cake.

After I cut the bottom trim it looked raw and unfinished. I used some of the pink fondant and rolled small balls to surround the entire bottom. I also found some pink and white heart sprinkles and I pushed them all around the outside of the cake. Then I cut out butterflies with different sized cutters and dried them on wax paper in a cookie sheet on the edges so they would look like they were flying (that was a trick I found online). Then I applied them all with a dab of water for the outer edge and some balls of frosting for the “flying” ones.

I used some of the white fondant rolled very thin ropes to write her name and some pink fondant to make a big 6.  With 6 tall sparkling candles – it was ready to go! (FYI – I had to poke holes in the fondant with toothpicks for the candles)   She absolutely loved it. It was a big hit at her party.  Here is what it looked like – I’m not a photographer and have a very old camera – so please excuse the quality of the picture!

Pink Butterflies and Hearts

Fondant Covered Pink Butterfly and Hearts Cake w/devils food chocolate cake and butter cream frosting

One response to “The Pink Butterfly and Heart Cake

Leave a comment